5
December
2006

Whois Spam

1 Votes | Average: 4 out of 51 Votes | Average: 4 out of 51 Votes | Average: 4 out of 51 Votes | Average: 4 out of 51 Votes | Average: 4 out of 5 (1 votes, average: 4 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

I had no idea that this form of spam existed.

I ran “whois amazon.com”, and got this:

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net for detailed information.

AMAZON.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
AMAZON.COM.IS.N0T.AS.1337.AS.WWW.GULLI.COM
AMAZON.COM
To single out one record, look it up with “xxx”, where xxx is one of the of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up with “=xxx” to receive a full display for each record.

Who knew!? Gulli.com is, not surprisingly, a site about hacking. Also, not surprisingly, doing the same for Google results in:

GOOGLE.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
GOOGLE.COM.ZOMBIED.AND.HACKED.BY.WWW.WEB-HACK.COM
GOOGLE.COM.WORDT.DOOR.VEEL.WHTERS.GEBRUIKT.SERVERTJE.NET
GOOGLE.COM.VN
GOOGLE.COM.UA
GOOGLE.COM.SUCKS.FIND.CRACKZ.WITH.SEARCH.GULLI.COM
GOOGLE.COM.PLZ.GIVE.A.PR8.TO.AUDIOTRACKER.NET
GOOGLE.COM.MX
GOOGLE.COM.IS.NOT.HOSTED.BY.ACTIVEDOMAINDNS.NET
GOOGLE.COM.IS.APPROVED.BY.NUMEA.COM
GOOGLE.COM.HAS.LESS.FREE.PORN.IN.ITS.SEARCH.ENGINE.THAN.SECZY.COM
GOOGLE.COM.BR
GOOGLE.COM.AU
GOOGLE.COM

Well, I’m off to register my “google.com.wishes.it.was.as.incredibly.awesome.as.www.erik-rasmussen.com” subdomain…

4 Comments

  1. Spam protection SPAIN:

    This is not spam (well, maybe a little), but captcha.
    Whois records are known to be an easy way to harvest valid emails.

  2. erik SPAIN:

    How is this captcha? Captcha is used to provide a test that humans can easily pass but computer programs cannot. Sorry, but I don’t see how that word applies here.

  3. lincoln UNITED STATES:

    Im getting pinged by the same guy as well, trying to find a way into my site?

    Server Name: AOL.COM.ZZZZZ.GET.LAID.AT.WWW.SWINGINGCOMMUNITY.COM
    IP Address: 69.41.185.197
    Registrar: INNERWISE, INC. D/B/A ITSYOURDOMAIN.COM
    Whois Server: whois.itsyourdomain.com

    Server Name: AOL.COM.MORE.INFO.AT.WWW.BEYONDWHOIS.COM
    IP Address: 203.36.226.2
    Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
    Whois Server: whois.tucows.com

    Server Name: AOL.COM.IS.N0T.AS.1337.AS.GULLI.COM
    IP Address: 80.190.192.24
    Registrar: KEY-SYSTEMS GMBH
    Whois Server: whois.rrpproxy.net

  4. M83:

    I know who they are. And I have no business or anything. And still get several attempts from them, all the time. They say their Google Inc., Out of Mountain View Cali.
    And you’ll get alot of ones like audiotracker.com and the ones mentioned above. Just stupid junk.

Want to change the avatar that shows up next to your comment? Sign up with gravatar.com and upload a new avatar. Make sure you use the same email address you leave comments with.

Leave a comment

*
To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Click to hear an audio file of the anti-spam word

 
©Copyright 2007 - All rights reserved.